Logo of Phnom Penh Post newspaper Phnom Penh Post - NEC: Seven parties registered for council elections

NEC: Seven parties registered for council elections

Content image - Phnom Penh Post
NEC spokesman Hang Puthea says seven parties have registered to take part in the 3rd Mandate Council Elections. NEC

NEC: Seven parties registered for council elections

Seven parties have registered to take part in the 3rd Mandate Council Elections after the March 7-11 registration period concluded on Monday, the NEC has announced.

NEC spokesman Hang Puthea told The Post on Monday that the seven parties registered to participate are the ruling Cambodian People’s Party (CPP), the Cambodian Youth Party, the Khmer Will Party (KWP), Funcinpec, the Khmer National United Party, the Cambodian Nationality Party and the Khmer Republican Party.

“The number of candidates is still being counted, so I don’t have a clear figure as yet,” Puthea said.

A total of 228 polling stations will open their doors for the upcoming municipal, provincial, town, district and commune council elections, with 11,572 commune and sangkat councillors nationwide able to vote.

Puthea said the NEC will be available to hear complaints regarding the election process from all parties until April 1.

KWP president Kong Monika said although his party has no councillors able to vote in the polls, it had registered to join in as it sees the elections as an opportunity to spread its message. It has placed candidates in 10 cities and provinces.

“I see joining [in this year’s council elections] as an opportunity to make the party more comprehensively known to people, and I that expect voters from both the ruling party and the dissolved opposition party will vote for mine in a multi-party democracy to promote sub-national development reforms,” he said.

CPP spokesman Sok Eysan said that the municipal-province and city-district council elections differed from national and commune elections in that voters were commune council members and not citizens. He said all CPP councillors would vote along party lines.

“Normally, members of a party in council elections must vote for that party and cannot vote for another,” Eysan said.


  • Hun Sen gets Covid, shuns G20, APEC summits

    Prime Minister Hun Sen said he has tested positive for Covid-19 in Indonesia, where he is slated to attend the G20 summit in his capacity of the ASEAN chair. In a social media post addressing the Cambodian public, he said: “Before leaving Cambodia, I always

  • Moody’s sets outlook rating to ‘negative’ for Cambodia

    US global rating agency Moody’s Investors Service Inc on November 15 announced that it downgraded Cambodia’s outlook from “stable” to “negative” and maintained its B2 local and foreign currency issuer ratings. “The negative outlook reflects a deteriorating external position as illustrated by the severe

  • Hong Kong firm done buying Coke Cambodia

    Swire Coca-Cola Ltd, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Hong Kong-listed Swire Pacific Ltd, on November 25 announced that it had completed the acquisition of The Coca-Cola Co’s bottling business in Cambodia, as part of its ambitions to expand into the Southeast Asian market. Swire Coca-Cola affirmed

  • Korean first lady paves way for ill boy’s surgery

    A 14-year-old boy with congenital heart disease who was lucky enough to meet with South Korean first lady Kim Keon-hee may get the chance of a lifetime and receive surgery and treatment at Asan Medical Center in Seoul, South Korea. After seeing his plight, many

  • Hun Sen’s Covid infection caused by ‘weakened antibody’ after summit

    Prime Minister Hun Sen said exhaustion from heavy workload before and during the recent ASEAN Summit may have led to him contracting Covid-19 due to his weakened immune system, while rejecting speculations that the infection was caused by leaders of some countries who did not

  • Kingdom’s rice crowned world’s No1

    Cambodia’s Phka Rumduol jasmine variety has been crowned the World’s Best Rice for the fifth time at the TRT (The Rice Trader) World Rice Conference in Phuket, Thailand on November 17, according to leaders of the Kingdom’s apex rice industry body. Phka Rumduol