Stung Treng province of Cambodia and Attapeu province of Laos have bolstered their cross-border collaboration, signing an agreement which focuses on security, safety, public order and drug control.

The accord was finalised on September 26 during the provinces' sixth administrative meeting in Attapeu.

Stung Treng governor Svay Sam Eang led a delegation to Laos, where they met with a delegation headed by his Lao counterpart Leth Xayyaphone. Both parties committed to safeguarding residents along the border and ensuring security, alongside promoting family and traditional visits and medical treatment exchanges for enhanced friendship and neighbourliness.

The agreement extends to preserving natural resources, regular exchanges of meteorological and hydrological information and facilitating the transportation of goods. A mutual commitment to fostering economic, trade, investment and tourism growth by 2030 was also highlighted, in line with the Cambodia-Laos-Vietnam (CLV) development triangle plan.

Both provinces have agreed to monitor and counteract the spread of infectious diseases and manage public health information, with a particular focus on women of reproductive age and the elderly. An emphasis was also placed on supporting the tourism sector and the exchange of educational experience.

Yang Peou, secretary-general of the Royal Academy of Cambodia, acknowledging the prevalent issue of drug trafficking in the forested areas of Don Sahong, and stressed the importance of practical cooperation.

“Drugs crossing the border hurts the economy and image of both nations. Cooperation between them is important, but action needs to be taken, not only on paper," he stated.

In 2022, representatives from Stung Treng, Ratanakkiri and Preah Vihear provinces collaborated with those from Champasak and Attapeu in Laos, under the guidance of Lao Prime Minister Phankham Viphavanh, who encouraged Lao provinces to cooperate with their Cambodian counterparts in order to foster friendship, solidarity and mutual cooperation.

The two countries have agreed on the necessity for the border provinces to hold regular consultations, enhancing cooperation and mutual assistance in various areas.