Logo of Phnom Penh Post newspaper Phnom Penh Post - Capital's designated zones retained for another week

Capital's designated zones retained for another week

Content image - Phnom Penh Post
According to an announcement signed by governor Khuong Sreng on May 12, only some parts of four districts including Tuol Kork, Por Sen Chey, Russey Keo, and Meanchey remain red zones.

Capital's designated zones retained for another week

The Phnom Penh Municipal Administration will retain through May 19 the capital’s three-colour-coded system that determines to what extent coronavirus restrictions are placed on parts of the city.

As more areas are downgraded to the less-stringent yellow or orange categories, out of the capital’s 14 districts, only Tuol Kork, Por Sen Chey, Russey Keo and Meanchey districts contain red zones, according to an announcement signed by municipal governor Khuong Sreng on May 12.

Some communes, villages or even just blocs of buildings in Dankgor, Kambol, Prampi Makara, Chbar Ampov, Tuol Kork, Por Sen Chey and Russey Keo districts retain their orange-zone status.

On the other hand, Chamkarmon, Daun Penh, Sen Sok, Chroy Changvar, Boeung Keng Kang and Prek Pnov are entirely designated as yellow zones.

Restrictions for each colour-coded zone remain the same as outlined in the previous decision dated May 5, according to the announcement.

Authorities reserve the right to close buildings where new coronavirus infections are detected in orange zones, and collect specimens from people in the area for testing, it added.

Sreng also noted that if Covid-19 cases are detected in yellow zones, the capital’s 14 district administrations and municipal health department must immediately cordon off the location, bloc or business where cases are found and collect samples for Covid-19 testing.

Anyone who suspects that they have Covid-19 or has been in contact with a probable or confirmed case of infection is required to undergo quarantine, in accordance with the Ministry of Health’s guidelines.


  • Typhoon Noru brings flash floods – 16 dead

    An official warned that that the 16th typhoon of the season, Noru, had brought heavy rains to areas the Mekong River and flooded thousands of homes in the provinces bordering Thailand. As of September 27, the death toll from the flooding had risen to 16. National Committee

  • Siem Reap drain canal now ‘mangrove’ promenade

    A more than half a kilometre long stretch of canal in Siem Reap has been covered and turned into a promenade to attract visitors, said Ly Rasmey, secretary of state at the Ministry of Land Management, Urban Planning and Construction, on September 16. The new pedestrianised

  • Angkor wildlife, aquarium park still to open October

    The Angkor Wildlife and Aquarium complex about 30km southeast of Siem Reap town with initial total investment of more than $70 million is reportedly still on track for an end-October opening. The park is located on a 100ha plot along National Road 6 in Kbon village, Khchas

  • Defence minister reaffirms Kingdom’s staunch support for One-China policy

    Minister of National Defence General Tea Banh has reaffirmed Cambodia’s unwavering support for the One-China policy. Tea Banh was speaking at the September 20 ceremonial handover of 117 vehicles and other military equipment donated by China’s defence ministry, held at Phnom Chumreay International Military Training

  • Deaths due to ‘lifestyle’ diseases rise in Kingdom

    The Ministry of Health has called on people to pay closer attention to their health to protect themselves from non-communicable diseases (NCDs) which it said have caused high rates of deaths in the country. Ministry secretary of state York Sambath made the call at a

  • Textile industry minimum wage now $200

    The official minimum wage for workers in textile-related sectors including garment, footwear, and travel goods for 2023 was pegged at $198, with Prime Minister Hun Sen stepping in to add $2 to the total, making it $200 per month. The Ministry of Labour and Vocational Training made the announcement