Real estate specialists and the residents of newly-established towns and neighbourhoods have urged the government to focus on developing the infrastructure of these areas, to ensure their rapid development.

The calls followed a January 6 sub-decree which established new towns and districts in Kandal, Kampong Speu and Kratie provinces.

Keo Samuth, who lives in a recently-established Oudong Me Chey town in Kampong Speu province – said she was elated that the government had decided to create them.

She suggested that the government focus on improving the infrastructure of the town because the area has no roads, bridges, schools, hospitals or public services yet.

Realtor Pang Bunthida supported the establishment of new towns near Phnom Penh, saying that it was drove increased sales in the property sector and boosted prices.

“I have noticed a recent increase in the momentum of buying and selling property in the Arey Ksat area. The prices may remain stable for now, but will increase when the bridge across the river is built,” he added.

Century 21 Mekong general director Chrek Soknim said the establishment of new towns would stimulate the growth of the area’s economies and would deliver public services more efficiently.

He also supported the government’s decision to put new governors in place.

“When the new towns are built, property prices will increase. However, these preparations require increased government infrastructure investment to ensure they meet their full potential,” he said.

“I think that the government should focus on developing and widening city ring roads to attract more businesses and residents. They should also consider tax relief to encourage the banking sector to release more investment capital in these areas,” he added.

The government established three new towns – Sampov Poun and Arey Ksat in Kandal province and Oudong Me Chey in Kampong Speu – following requests from the Ministry of Interior, according to a sub-decree issued by Prime Minister Hun Sen on December 23.

According to the sub-decree, the decision to create the new towns and districts was made under the new Article 140 of the Law on Administrative Management of the Capital, Provinces and Towns.