The National Election Committee approved election observers from three political parties for the council elections for three newly formed towns in Kandal and Kampong Speu and a district in Kratie.

Last December, the government established four new jurisdictions: Sampov Poun and Arey Ksat in Kandal province, Oudong Me Chey in Kampong Speu and O’Krieng Senchey district in Kratie province.

According to the NEC’s March 9 notice, three political parties – Cambodian People’s Party, FUNCINPEC and Candlelight Party—will have a total of 20 observers at each polling station.

NEC spokesman Hang Puthea said that at the council elections for the new towns and district observers from political parties and civil society can stay inside the polling rooms or observe from outside, depending on approval from the station head. They can take notes on whatever happens on election day.

Observers from political parties also have rights to file complaints to the head of the election station, but observers from NGOs can only take notes.

The first phase of the council election for these towns and district will take place on April 9, with only three political parties participating.