The Siem Reap Provincial Administration has decided to place four communes and three villages in Siem Reap town under lockdown for one week through September 23 following Covid-19 outbreaks there.

The four communes that have been designated as red zones are Slakram, Svay Dangkum, Kokchak and Chhreav commune. The three villages are Ta Vien in Sala Kamroeuk commune, and Prey Thom and Sra Nge in Sra Nge commune.

Residents are forbidden from leaving their homes. All sport activities, gatherings and non-essential travel are banned. Offenders will face legal action and have their vehicles impounded.

Markets, cafeterias and other businesses in the red zones are also suspended.