Logo of Phnom Penh Post newspaper Phnom Penh Post - Three new towns established

Three new towns established

Content image - Phnom Penh Post
A young woman rides a bicycle along Mekong River Street on the capital’s Chroy Changvar peninsula as two ferries head east to the port in Svay Chrum village of Kandal province’s Khsach Kandal district. Hong Menea

Three new towns established

The government has established three new towns – Sampov Poun and Arey Ksat in Kandal province and Oudong Me Chey in Kampong Speu – following requests from the Ministry of Interior, according to sub-decree issued by Prime Minister Hun Sen on December 23.

On the Vietnamese border, Sampov Poun town comprises five communes – all split from Koh Thom district. These are: Chhoeu Khmao, Prek Chrey, Prek Speu, Chroy Takeo and the administrative capital of Sampov Poun.

Arey Ksat town encompasses 11 communes: Bak Dav, Oknha Tei, Prek Ampil, Prek Luong Prek Takov and Svay Chrum taken from Khsach Kandal district; and Arey Ksat, Sarikakeo, Peam Oknha Ong, Prek Kmeng and Barong separated from Lvea Em district. The administrative capital will be in the eponymous commune.

Kampong Speu province’s former Oudong district was partitioned into Oudong Me Chey town and Samaki Monichey district.

Oudong Me Chey town will have five communes: Vaing Chas, Trach Tong, Preah Sre, Ksem Ksan and Veal Pong, the last of which will house the town hall.

Samaki Monichey district will take the remaining 10 communes Chan Sen, Champou Proek, Kraing Chek, Meanchey, Prey Krasaing, Yuth Samaki, Damnak Raing, Paing Lvea, Phnom Touch and Choeung Ras, the last of which will contain the district hall.


  • Wing Bank opens new branch in front of Orkide The Royal along Street 2004

    Wing Bank celebrates first anniversary as commercial bank with launch of brand-new branch. One year since officially launching with a commercial banking licence, Wing Bank on March 14 launched a new branch in front of Orkide The Royal along Street 2004. The launch was presided over by

  • Girl from Stung Meanchey dump now college grad living in Australia

    After finishing her foundational studies at Trinity College and earning a Bachelor’s degree from the University of Melbourne in 2022, Ron Sophy, a girl who once lived at the Stung Meanchey garbage dump and scavenged for things to sell, is now working at a private

  • Ministry using ChatGPT AI to ‘ease workload’; Khmer version planned

    The Digital Government Committee is planning to make a Khmer language version of popular artificial intelligence (AI) technology ChatGPT available to the public in the near future, following extensive testing. On March 9, the Ministry of Post and Telecommunications revealed that it has been using the

  • Wat Phnom hornbills attract tourists, locals

    Thanks to the arrival of a friendly flock of great hornbills, Hour Rithy, a former aviculturist – or raiser of birds – in Kratie province turned Phnom Penh tuk tuk driver, has seen a partial return to his former profession. He has become something of a guide

  • Ministry orders all schools, public and private, to close for SEA Games

    From April 20 to May 18, all public and private educational institutions will be closed to maintain order and support Cambodia's hosting of the 32nd SEA Games and 12th ASEAN Para Games, said a directive from the Ministry of Education, Youth and Sport. Cambodia will host the

  • Almost 9K tourists see equinox sunrise at Angkor Wat

    Nearly 9,000 visitors – including 2,226 international tourists – gathered at Angkor Wat on March 21 to view the spring equinox sunrise, according to a senior official of the Siem Reap provinical tourism department. Ngov Seng Kak, director of the department, said a total of 8,726 people visited Angkor Wat to